Poetry Burns

Shrouded in Lies

In Uncategorized on November 17, 2011 at 5:42 am

Another Friday night, sure I won’t hear from you.

Sunday night I’m lucky if I hear one word.

 Monday – Thursday I’m at your disposal; your work-week distraction until you go back to her.

I’m not bitter.

Fill my head with lies to tide me over the weekend.

Make sure I’ll still be waiting when you land back on planet earth.

Aren’t I proud?

To be valued so highly by someone I care so much about.

Why can’t I turn it off?

This fatal attraction is slowly killing me; you couldn’t care less.

I wish I could show you how this feels.

You’re so desensitized to everyone and everything; why should I be any different?

It’s getting old, talking myself into believing somewhere deep down I matter to you.

Well this is it.

I can’t take it anymore, not even a blip on your radar.

It’s not fair for only one of us to get hurt.

Guess it must be nice living with your head in the clouds.

You can’t see who you’re stepping on.

All you see is white.

I’m drowning underneath, shrouded in black.

Pull me out, bring me back.

Put me down and leave me to recover on my own.

I don’t need your help, your consolation prize is a package of lies.

Return to sender, I’m still sensitive.

My broken heart is tender.

Leave a comment